Posted in Reviews

Murder in the Marais by Cara Black

Murder in the Marais (Aimee Leduc Investigations, #1)Murder in the Marais by Cara Black
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book is the latest in a series, but can be read as a standalone novel.

I would rate this at 3.5 stars – not bad, but not my favorite. Basically, I would try others in the series, but I’m not going to buy them at full-price, type-of-deal.

The novel centers on a female detective, Aimee Leduc, in Paris in the 90s. She is given a case and goes to deliver the information to her contact, an elderly Jewish woman, when she finds the woman dead, with a swastika carved into her forehead. From there, Aimee is pulled into a case which stretches back 50 years, to the Occupation and its ramifications.

I liked the premise and I actually learned a lot about the French Occupation and its impact. Without giving anything away, I had no idea about “collaboration horizontale” in the treatment of women following liberation. I actually spent some time reading about it online after reading the novel; which is what a good book should do: help entertain you, but also teach you something or get you interested in subject you might not have come across before.

However much of the novel’s action was a little much. As I’ve said previously I don’t mind suspending belief a little bit for the sake of a good story, but this novel pushed it to the brink. Aimee was basically connected to like five deaths and somehow was able to just continue to do whatever she wanted. I mean she was having shootouts on the streets of Paris.

That’s a little much to believe.

She also seems to lack a bit of professionalism and common sense. Like a bull in a china shop. But overall she was not unpleasant or unlikable to me just a little too much at times.

But the novel kept me reading and guessing, which shows that it contains the hallmarks of a good story, maybe just with some execution issues.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Murder in the Marais by Cara Black

Leave a Reply

