Posted in Reviews

Stormswept by Deborah Martin (Sabrina Jeffries)

StormsweptStormswept by Deborah Martin
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Today, I am officially declaring my love of Regency romances. They’re my guilty pleasure read when I need a pick-me-up. When you find a great romance, it just makes you feel good inside.

And Stormswept was AMAZING.

It centers around Juliana and Rhys, who married young and in secret. And when her family finds out, they make sure the young, hot-headed Rhys is put out of the way, they think for good.

But they were wrong. Rhys makes his reappearance as Juliana finally accepts his death and becomes engaged to another man. Rhys demands that Juliana submit to him as a wife, convinced that she is the reason he spent six years in torment, but he begins to discover that not only do the embers of passion still burn brightly, but that Juliana may have never lost them.

This book not only had a great storyline, but it had the romance and passion to go along with it. And while the storyline was intense, it didn’t suck up too much of the book. (I hate when some random subplot takes the focus off of the couple: they’re the reason we’re reading in the first place!)

And the love scenes were hot. Uh….that’s all I’ll say about that *wink*.

I don’t think it’s too much of a shock that there was a happy ending, and it came at just the right pace. As I’ve said, there was just the right amount of conflict to keep the story going, some twists, but worth the focus firmly on Rhys and Juliana, with the perfect resolution.

Bottom line: HIGHLY recommended.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

