Posted in Reviews

Only Daughter by Anna Snoekstra

Only DaughterOnly Daughter by Anna Snoekstra
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was great. There, I had to get that out of the way first.

I seriously could not wait to find out what happened in this book, that I was literally reading at top speed just to get in an extra page or chapter.

The story is similar to another recent book that I loved, Good as Gone, in that it is a story that takes place over two time periods: one starting as a girl returns home after more than a decade missing and the other explaining what happened all those years ago. But the stories are different enough that they are not redundant or boring.

In this case, we know from the beginning of the novel that the girl who returns to the Winter household after 11 years is not Rebecca from the beginning. She’s merely a troubled runaway escaping something in her past. At first, she thinks that life as Bec Winter might not be so bad. But then she realizes that things are a bit……off. And as we learn what really happened to Bec, we realize that she is right.

I don’t want to give away too much we cause there are so many layers here. But each one is a unique angle and packs a lot of punch with it. I did not guess the ending before the “big reveal.” No way. But all of those layers which keep you guessing really come together in the end and create a big explosion of a reveal.

Seriously, this was a book I will be returning to in the future to see what I missed this first time.

It’s a top 2016 release for me, for sure.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Only Daughter by Anna Snoekstra

Leave a Reply

