Posted in Reviews

Beautiful Maids All in a Row by Jennifer Harlow

Beautiful Maids All in a Row (Iris Ballard, #1)Beautiful Maids All in a Row by Jennifer Harlow
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This one is not for the faint of heart.

From the first page, you’re knee-deep in the world of a serial killer who can only be stopped by the work of the best the FBI has to offer. Then you meet Iris Ballard, who is has been drunk, smoking or hopped up on pills since she left the FBI two years ago when her husband was killed.

So starts “Beautiful Maids All in a Row,” which chronicles the search for the Woodsman, a sick man who kills women and mutilates their corpses. Ballard is called in by her former partner (and one-time fling) to help create a profile of the killer.

This book was a little different because the bad guy was revealed about 2/3 of the way through. The last third was Iris’ struggle to prove his identity and outwit the psychopath, who seems to have everyone fooled. It’s San interesting approach, and I can’t say that I hated it.

My only quarrel would be that the ending is abrupt. There’s no epilogue to say how it all shakes out following the final confrontation, which I think is important for closure. But I guess that’s just a reason to pick up the next in the series.

But I definitely liked this series start and would recommend it for all thriller fans. It’s heavy on thrills, with light romance and plenty of action.

What more could you want?

View all my reviews

Leave a comment