Posted in Reviews

Live to Tell by Bianca Sloane

Live To Tell: A NovelLive To Tell: A Novel by Bianca Sloane

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh my.

At first glance, this wouldn’t be the type of book that I would like: an account of a tawdry affair, with some drama about “something bad” going to happen from the beginning.

But as I read more, by God, I couldn’t put this book down. I just had to know how it ended.

The novel follows a cardiologist and the completely disintegrated relationship between him and his wife. He decides to have an affair with a cocktail waitress but gets more than he bargained for when he becomes obsessed with her.

I don’t want to give away too much because the surprise is pretty good. But Charles the narrator does tease about “something bad” from the very beginning. And it is bad. It’s one of those situations where things could have turned out differently at 100 different points, but they just didn’t.

It adds to the excitement for me.

The book took me a couple chapters to get into. So stick with it when you first open it. Like I said it’s not really a book that I would normally go for (I’m not really into the “domestic issues” genre. Gone Girl’s ruined it for me.) but trust me it’s worth the read.

Also, the ending is not 100 percent completed. The author says there will be a follow up.

Yup, I’ll be looking out for it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

