Posted in Reviews

You Will Know Me by Megan Abbott

You Will Know MeYou Will Know Me by Megan Abbott
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

For those of you, like me, still hungover from Rio and watching the Final Five dominate, “You Will Know Me,” is a treat.

It’s a deep, dark look at elite gymnastics and what the athletes and families have to do to get to the highest levels of the sport. Whether those are the right – the good – choices, remains to be seen.

The book follows Devon Knox, a young gymnastics prodigy, as she prepares to go “elite,” the final stage before qualifying for an international or Olympic team. Her family is at the center of the book: her mother, Katie (the narrator), dad Eric and little brother Drew. When a young man in their circle of gym-based friends dies, the ripples from that moment will affect them all.

The book’s mood is dark and slightly “off,” giving a creepy vibe, which adds to the suspense. Ive seen other reviews which call the ending obvious, but I don’t think so. I think the author did a good job of keeping reader slightly off-balance.

But the ending. The ending.

Nope. Nope. Nope.

I don’t want to give anything away, but I was not a fan of the ending and if you are the kind of person that requires a good ending, in that it at least answers the most basic questions you have, you will want to skip this book. It’s hard to be specific because I don’t want to give anything away but just trust me.

That’s the difference for me between four and five stars.

Or average and elite.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

