Posted in Reviews

The New Mrs. Collins by Quanie Miller

Below is my review of (the fabulous!) “The New Mrs. Collins,” by Quanie Miller. Be sure to check back tomorrow for a special author Q&A with the author!

The New Mrs. CollinsThe New Mrs. Collins by Quanie Miller

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Paranormal stories, in my opinion, tend to fall into one of two categories: cheesy, ridiculous affairs, in which vampires “just want to go to high school!”; or creepy, haunting tales that leave you wondering, “What if this is real?”

The New Mrs. Collins is definitely in that second category. To borrow a phrase from the book: “Oh dear Lord,” It is so good!

The book follows Leena, who is left at the altar in the worst possible way; she finds out at the ceremony that he is leaving her for the most beautiful, poised woman anyone’s ever seen. Leena begins the struggle to pick up the pieces of her life, but it’s a small town, and her and Johnny share a son, so she continues to run into his new wife.

Then strange things begin happening. And they all seem to revolve around Adira, Johnny’s new wife. As Leena looks into Adira’s past, she realizes she may be in over her head. Who is Adira, and more importantly, what is she capable of?

This book hit the perfect tone for me. There were times I was frightened and looking over my shoulder, and there were other times I was literally laughing out loud. Trust me, the cast of supporting characters in this book is great.

I also like that the “bad side” is a little ambiguous. I don’t want to give anything away, but the backstory is one that makes you think and question if things could have turned out differently. I like that you can look at things from various angles. It adds dimension to the book.

The ending is very satisfying – but it also leaves open the possibility that Miller may be able to revisit these characters. I hope she does and if so I will be reading it.

I give it my highest recommendation.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “The New Mrs. Collins by Quanie Miller

Leave a Reply

