Posted in Reviews

The Art of Murder by Nicola Slade

The Art of Murder (Harriet Quigley Mystery)The Art of Murder by Nicola Slade
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I struggled with what to give this one. I settled on three stars because it’s not bad……it’s just not particularly good.

Based on the cover and description, I was expecting some kind of creepy tale with some great characters, but instead, it is a super cozy mystery akin to “Murder She Wrote.” In fact, one of the main characters refers to the other, his cousin, as Miss Marple. It was a letdown.

The story centers on the cousins, Sam and Harriet, who join an art groups’ weekend retreat to help out Harriet’s friend make up the money for the trip. The group’s leader organized it, but everyone on the weekend getaway pretty much hates her. And the leader, Linzi, thinks she’s being stalked. Which of the cast of characters are responsible?

I’ll start off by saying there are way too many characters to keep track of. I couldn’t, really. That also means I really didn’t care what happened to any of them. Plus, they were all kind of terrible.

It was drawn out and by the end, I didn’t really care “who dunnit,” I just read to finish it out.

I gave 3 stars because while I didn’t love it, if you are a fan of Miss Marilee, you might. If crime-solving retirees don’t excite you, skip this one.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

