Posted in Reviews

Unnatural Deeds by Cyn Balog

Unnatural DeedsUnnatural Deeds by Cyn Balog
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book was a little different than your average YA/mystery-thriller in style, but I liked it! You know the whole time that someone is murdered and things have gone horribly wrong, but you don’t see the clear picture until the end.

The story is written as a reflection by high school junior Vic, addressed to her boyfriend Andrew. Vic is shy and anxious, while Andrew, who lives next door is also extremely anxious, but the pair are best friends and boyfriend/girlfriend – a seemingly perfect pair. Andrew is homeschooled, while Vic goes to a small Catholic school. The first day of her junior year, she meets “Z,” and they begin a fast-paced, obsessive affair which leads to … something. We don’t know, but each chapter starts with pieces of police interviews and reports which indicate something is very wrong.

Oh, and at the beginning of the novel, Vic tells us she’s narrating this story from a ditch alongside the road, where she’s stuck.

Yeah. The atmosphere is incredibly dark and foreboding – the whole time you’re trying to get a grip on who the villain is, if anyone, and what the big picture is.

There’s twists at the end which really will jolt you and throw the story into chaos.

My only qualm is – for me, the twists and ending raised more questions than they answered. I like when I can walk away knowing what happened and reflecting back on the story, but I found myself in this case saying, “Wait…why this? Why that? Did s/he mean this?”

My questions weren’t sequel-worthy or anything, they were just questions about some things that knowing the bigger picture finally, made me question some things.

I’m trying to be vague so I don’t spoil things, I hope this all makes sense. I’d love to hear from people who have read it and want to share their perspective!

Overall, I did like it – I really wanted to know what happened! It was definitely a creepy tale for people who like thrillers. Just be prepared to question everything.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

