Posted in Reviews

The Gift by Louise Jensen

The GiftThe Gift by Louise Jensen

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When I heard Louise Jensen had a new book out, I jumped at the chance to read it. Her first book, “The Sister” was a real treat.

And I’m here to tell you that “The Gift,” doesn’t disappoint.

The book centers on Jenna, who received a heart transplant six months ago. And while she’s physically doing very well, mentally, she’s struggling – she’s having weird dreams and visions which seem so vivid and real. In an effort to move past this confusion, she reaches out to her donor’s family, and finds that the terrifying visions she’s having may really be memories of her donor’s – Callie – final months. What really happened to Callie? Something bad? Or is it all in Jenna’s head.

This novel sets up a really classic unreliable narrator situation. All of this weird stuff is happening all around Jenna, but even Jenna can’t determine if it’s real or a side effect of her medication. It’s always something that looms in the back of the novel: is any of this real? There’s subplots involving Jenna’s job and relationships, which really add to this whole confusion and cause Jenna to question her sanity.

The reveals at the end are good, but not as shocking as “The Sister.” However, this novel is more of an atmospheric thriller, rather than a mystery. It’s more about taking the pieces you have and putting them together in this novel, rather than searching for that last piece. It all happens pretty quickly, but overall is pretty satisfying.

I still do have some questions, but I’m going to have to go back and re-read some passages. I was so into it, I couldn’t wait to figure things out and may have missed some things.

Louise Jensen is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors and I highly recommend “The Gift” for any suspense or thriller fans.

I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

