Posted in Reviews

Lost Girls by Merrie Destefano

Lost GirlsLost Girls by Merrie Destefano

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book was quite a ride. The premise is amazing and the book really grips you from the beginning and doesn’t stop until you’re left looking at the last page.

Rachel returns home after going missing for two weeks. However, in addition to forgetting how she went missing and what happened, she doesn’t remember the entire last year of her life. And additionally it appears she went through a major transformation in that year. As she tries to figure out what happened to her – as well as numerous other “Lost Girls” in the region – she’s also dealing with uncovering what led her to completely give up her former life and become someone she barely recognizes.

I don’t want to give too much away because I’ve read other reviews that kind of spoiled it – but she basically fines that she and her friends have become involved in something that is dangerous in the extreme.

It’s like sex, drugs, and rock ‘n’ roll for teenagers.

Like I said I really enjoyed the story which is really peeled back in layers as memories return to Rachel at different times. There’s definitely a sense of foreboding throughout the novel as Rachel comes closer to figuring out what is going on. That atmospheric tension really makes the book go from good to great.

However, I gave the book four stars because while I did like the story, some of it was so far out there and unbelievable that it made me pause slightly. For a book that is supposed to take place in the “real world” there was a lot of stretching of the imagination that needs to happen. I mean, you basically have to imagine that all of the adults in the novel are completely dumb and can only figure things out when it is spelled out for them. But once you get past that, you’ll be fine.

I wouldn’t let that deter you from picking up this book which really is very, very good. I enjoyed it very much and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quick read which will pull you in immediately.

I would definitely read more from this author.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

