Posted in Reviews

Wrong Number by Carys Jones

Wrong Number (Wrong Number #1)Wrong Number by Carys Jones

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m conflicted about this one.

On the one hand, I really liked it. It kept my attention and kept we wondering how it was all going to turn out. On the other, it wasn’t very suspenseful, as implied in the description, and it was a cliffhanger ending. I hate cliffhanger endings.

If you do too, this book is not for you.

Basically, the story is about a woman – a former darknet hacker – who has settled down into married life and thinks everything is going great, until one day she was a weird phone call asking for someone she’s never heard of. The next morning, her husband is gone. With the help of her ex-boyfriend, a homicide detective, and her hacking skills, she discovers that her husband is hiding some very dark secrets.

Like I said, this novel is actually pretty light on suspense, since it’s not too hard to figure out what has happened, but I did enjoy reading along to see how everything turned out. There’s a love triangle – of course – and I actually really liked that part. It was very interesting to see what Amanda chooses to do and where her feelings lie.

That love triangle was actually the most interesting part to me and I was weirdly invested in it (Team Shane!).

But then there’s the ending, which as I said earlier, is a bit of a cliffhanger. It resolves some things, but leaves a huge, wide door open. I understand that this is supposed to be the start of a series, but I would have liked a little more closure here. I mean, it truly felt like the ending of an episode of “Scandal,” but now we have to wait until the next book comes out, which can be a long time in book world.

But I guess the big question is would I pick up the next in the series. And the answer is yes, I would. As I said before, it’s not a bad story, and I am interested to see where it goes.

So I mildly recommend this one. Fans of action books and love triangles will enjoy this book; if you’re looking for a mystery/thriller, skip it.

Maybe if the next one is a little more developed, it will veer into the thriller genre. The author certainly has the potential to write a very good, suspenseful novel.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

