Posted in Reviews

The Lost Woman by Sara Blaedel

The Lost WomanThe Lost Woman by Sara Blaedel

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I didn’t know if I’d like this novel from the description. It seemed interesting, by more focused on characters than plot.

But I am so glad to say that I was wrong. This novel was incredibly intriguing and I loved every page.

The story begins with the murder of a woman in England, Who turns out to be a Danish woman reported missing nearly 20 years earlier. Louise Rick is plunged into the case when it turns out the dead woman is her new boyfriend’s ex-girlfriend. As they dig into her pass it becomes apparent that her murder may not be random, The culmination of nearly 20 years of events.

Don’t want to give away too much because the reveal is very good but this novel is so much deeper than just a police procedural. The background is explained along side of the modern case story; we learn about Sophie’s background and what led to her actions, and therefore the actions of her killer, as police investigate her murder.

It’s really good because it involves a modern-day issue that is complex and nuanced and the story is too. Even the ending is incredibly complex and makes you think. It’s not a black-and-white story and that makes the novel even better.

Some of the danish names were hard to keep straight but the main characters have fairly simple, Anglicized names, which made it a tad easier.

This is a novel in a series but I read it as a standalone. It certainly can’t be read as a standalone and I had no problems picking up the storylines. The only thing I didn’t like about this book being part of a series is the fact that I feel bad that I missed such great novels – I’ll be going back and looking up the rest of the Louise Rick series.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

