Posted in Reviews

The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

The CutawayThe Cutaway by Christina Kovac

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

First things first: “The Cutaway” is a great thriller which will keep you guessing and twisting until the reveal. It’s like a tangled web where everyone’s involved, the question is: how?

But that ending with the main characters: thumbs DOWN! But maybe that means we’ll see these characters again. And if that’s the case, put me down for a copy ASAP.

The story revolves around Virginia Knightley, a news producer in Washington D.C., who gets a standard press release about a missing woman. But something about this woman strikes her, and she decides to look further into the case. How did a beautiful woman disappear after dinner with her husband in a wealthy area of D.C.? The more questions Virginia asks, the more questions she has.

The thriller/mystery was awesome. I was hooked. It was like an episode of Dateline that you can’t look away from. And as the pieces start to come together, it creates a dark picture of the inside world of Washington’s social and political scenes, which are dangerously entangled.

I liked the depiction of the news aspect as well. It was pretty accurate as far as news judgement and sourcing goes, which I appreciated.

But oh, that personal drama storyline. I was so rooting for it to go the exact opposite of what it did. I’m still not over it. But hopefully this means we’ll see more of these characters and continue their story. That’s the only way I’m able to accept it, lol.

Overall, it’s a great book. I might have wished for it to go a little bit differently, but I was definitely flipping pages to see how to it turned out. Make no mistake, I was hooked.

Highly recommended.

View all my reviews

One thought on “The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

Leave a Reply

