Posted in Reviews

The Lost Children by Helen Phifer

The Lost Children (Detective Lucy Harwin, #1)The Lost Children by Helen Phifer

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“The Lost Children” is a dark, twisty thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last.

I know that sounds like a bit of a book cliché, but it’s the truth I couldn’t put this book down once I started it. Even after I had figured out part of the mystery, I just had to keep reading to see if I was right.

Needless to say, I loved this book.

Lucy Harwin is back at work after a three-month break, which she took after a case went wrong. On her first day back a body has appeared in an old children’s asylum, which closed in the 1970s, with the injuries resembling a botched lobotomy. Is the modern-day murder connected to the old place? If so, how.

As the modern day storyline unfolds we are also transported back to the children’s ward of the asylum to see the events which have led up to this current predicament.

The book has an intensely creepy vibe, which the author does a great job of keeping up throughout the entire novel. The crimes are brutal and aren’t for those with a weak stomach, but it really adds to the atmosphere of the novel. I mean what’s more creepy than an abandoned asylum and a possibly psychotic killer seeking revenge?

Like I said I figured out part of the ending but I wasn’t disappointed because I still didn’t have the entire picture. Once that entire picture is revealed it really is quite a ride to the end to see how everything turns out.

Also I enjoyed the personal story lines surrounding the officers just as much as I enjoyed the mystery. They weren’t overwhelming compared to the mystery, which still took center stage, but there were enough little nuggets to keep me interested throughout the book.

My only complaint is that the book ended kind of abruptly. I wish some of the storylines got more time in the end. But it looks like this will become a series, based on the author note at the end of the novel, so I will just have to wait until the next book.

And I’ll definitely be reading it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

