Posted in Reviews

Every Last Lie by Mary Kubica

Every Last LieEvery Last Lie by Mary Kubica

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’d heard great things about Mary Kubica’s work before reading this book, but I’d never had the opportunity to read her work before now. And now that I’m a Kubica veteran, I can confirm all of good things I’ve heard.

This book packs a punch you don’t even see coming.

It’s only four days after Clara gives birth to her second child that she receives word that no one wants to hear: her husband has died in a crash caused by his own reckless driving. Their 4-year-old, also in the car, is uninjured. It seems like an open-and-shut case until Clara begins discovering weird things about Nick’s life just before the crash. She becomes determined to find out if this was an accident or something a lot worse. The story is told from both Clara and Nick’s viewpoints, to show all the secrets Nick kept before his death.

I hesitate to call this a mystery/thriller because it starts out with Clara finding out about her husband’s death and quickly becomes a drama about her struggling to accept it. You could literally feel her anxiety and sadness as you read, especially as she begins to find out the secrets Nick kept from her. Slowly, before you even realize it, the novel becomes a mystery, which deepens as it becomes apparent that Nick was keeping a lot of secrets. Like, a lot. By then, you’re hooked, unable to look away until you discover what the heck is going on.

Like I said, it’s definitely the sign of a great writer when you actually feel anxious and paranoid FOR the character. As you watch Clara unravel, it’s like her instability radiates off the pages. I couldn’t stop reading!

I don’t want to give anything away, so I’m going to be really vague here, but I had some suspicions that the ending would turn out like it did, but it was pretty intense, regardless. There are enough suspects and red herrings to keep you turning pages.

Suffice it to say, I really enjoyed this book. From now on, I’m a big fan of Mary Kubica.

Highly recommended.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

