Posted in Reviews

Review: The Good Friend by Jo Baldwin

The Good FriendThe Good Friend by Jo Baldwin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow. This is one of those books that I thought I knew how I felt about it…then I read the last chapter. And like a week later, I’m still processing it. I’m still a little stunned.

Jenny is visiting her former best friend after an eight-year hiatus, during which her former BFF and ex-BF got married, had a child and moved to the south of France. Everything seems OK, if a little awkward, at first, but then Jenny notices Kath is acting odd and her old feelings for Tom begin to return. All of this is happening as Jenny is deciding what to do with the next stage of her life.

The book is full of heart-pounding suspense and fans of slow-burn thrillers will love this book.

The trio of main characters is interesting, in that I didn’t find myself particularly drawn to any of them – each had annoying qualities in that they seemed to dance around the topics at hand and their feelings about one another. But I guess that’s human nature, especially at tumultuous times, which Jenny is experiencing. We do see growth in her and Tom, which is good.

OK, that ending. Yeah, it’s a biggie. I just sat there stunned for a couple minutes, not sure how I felt about it. But one thing I knew for sure: the ending really took the book from a 3.5-ish to 4.5 stars for me. It was really the exclamation point on a good book. I enjoyed it up to that point, then WHAM. Wow.

Overall, I don’t want to give away too much, so I’m going to stop talking, but just get this one if you like character-driven suspense. You won’t regret it!

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: The Good Friend by Jo Baldwin

Leave a comment