Posted in Reviews

#BlogTour: Bring Her Home by S.A. Dunphy

About the Book

She had taken only one step towards the hotel when she heard the car door opening, and then something had her by the shoulders in a grip like steel. Penny tried to fight, but it was no good. The last thing she heard as consciousness drifted away was the whisper of a familiar song…

On a cold night in October a pretty, blonde girl named Penny O’Dwyer is snatched from the quiet main street of a small, coastal town in the west of Ireland. No one saw anything, and a desperate search leads nowhere… Until her abductor sends a video declaring Penny only has ten days to live and a deadly countdown begins.

Criminal behaviourist Jessie Boyle hoped never to work a case in Ireland again. But when her career in London is cut short by a brutal tragedy, she returns to her homeland to grieve – only for her oldest friend to call in a long overdue debt. ‘Help us catch this monster and bring Penny home. We need you, Jessie.’

Throwing herself into the investigation, Jessie makes a chilling discovery: Penny wasn’t the first girl to be taken. As her team find more missing women, she becomes convinced that a serial killer has been hiding in plain sight for years. Nothing seems to tie the victims together, until Jessie realises that that each abduction site is linked to the old Irish myths she read as a child.

Time is running out for Penny, and Jessie’s only hope is to understand the killer’s twisted logic. But he is closer than she imagined… and Jessie is next in his sights. Will she risk everything to save an innocent life?

A totally breathtaking and chilling crime thriller that will keep you gripped to the very last page, perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, A.J. Rivers, Tana French and Lisa Gardner.

My Review

5/5 Stars – Looking forward to more in this series!

This book is the first in a new series and it really has me super excited for more! The plot was great and the characters even more so – but I’m getting ahead of myself.

The plot was very intriguing in itself. A high-profile kidnapping occurs and Jessie Boyle, is called in to help, with virtually no clues to go on and a ragtag team at her side. I mean, tell me that doesn’t sound like a recipe for a great mystery. And it really is. Though I had suspicions about the identity of the bad guy toward the end, I won’t disappointed in the ending at all. Figuring out how everything fit together was really intriguing and kept me turning pages.

Also, as stated before, I LOVED the characters in this one. Jessie, Terri, Seamus, even some of the secondary characters were just delightful (I don’t want to give away who’s innocent and who’s not). I am so excited to see the this is going to turn into a series! I can’t wait to see where things go from here!

Fans of police procedurals will really enjoys this book, which has a great plot and awesome characters to go with it.

About the Author

Shane Dunphy (S. A. Dunphy) was born in Brighton in 1973, but grew up in Ireland, where he has lived and worked for most of his life. A child protection worker for fifteen years, he is the bestselling author of seventeen books, including the number one Irish bestseller Wednesday’s Child and the Sunday Times Bestseller The Girl Who Couldn’t Smile. His bestselling series of crime novels (written under the name S. A. Dunphy) feature the criminologist David Dunnigan. Stories From the Margins, his new series of true crime books written for Audible, has been critically acclaimed and the second title in the series, The Bad Place, is an Audible True Crime bestseller. 

Social Links

Buy Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s