Posted in Book Extras, New releases

“Girl on the Verge” Release Week Celebration: Excerpt and Giveaway!

Hello all!  Welcome to the Release Week Blitz for

Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn!

I loved this book – check out my review here! There’s an excerpt below, and 
be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post!

Congratulations Pintip!!

Book Description:

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn
Publication Date:  June 27, 2017
Publisher:  Kensington

Google Drive | BAM | Chapters | Amazon | B&N | Kobo | TBD | iBooks

 

A fish swims beneath the open staircase in my Khun Yai’s house. A real live fish, with its translucent fins fluttering in the water, its belly gold-scaled and bloated from regular feedings. If I part my knees, I can catch long glimpses of its lazy swimming through the gap in the stairs.
Of course, I’m not supposed to part my knees. It’s not ladylike for a twelve-year-old girl, not here, not in Thailand. The land where my parents grew up; the place that’s supposed to be my home, too. That’s what the banner said, when my relatives came to pick us up at the airport. “Welcome home, Kanchana.”
Never mind that I only come to Thailand every couple years. Never mind that I don’t look like anyone else here, with my American build and my frizzy, out-of-control hair. Never mind that I don’t look like anyone in my hometown, either, since I’m the only Asian girl in school. Never mind that the only reason we’re here now is because my father’s dead and my mom can’t keep it together.
For a moment, pain lances through me, so sharp and severe that it might as well slice my heart in half, like in one of those video games my friends like to play. I squeeze my eyes shut, but that doesn’t keep the tears from spilling out. Neither do the glasses sliding down my nose. And so the tears drip down, down, down, past my unladylike knees, through the gap in the stairs, into the fish basin below.
The drops scare the fish, who swims away with its tail swishing in the water, no longer languid, no longer lazy. So, even this creature wants to get away from me—from my grief, from my strangeness—as quickly as possible.
“There you are, luk lak,” Khun Yai says in Thai, coming down the stairs. She is my mother’s mother, and since we arrived, she’s used the endearment—child that I love—more often than my name.
“You’re up early.” She pats her forehead with a handkerchief. It’s only seven a.m., and already sweat drenches my skin like I’ve taken a dip in the basin. No wonder they take two or three showers a day here.
“Couldn’t sleep. Jet lag.”
“I’ve been up for a couple hours myself.” She eases onto the step next to me, her knees pressed together, her legs folded demurely to one side.
Immediately, I try to rearrange my body to look like hers and then give up. My legs just don’t go that way.
“What do you want to do today?” Khun Yai asks. “More shopping?”
“Um, no thanks.” I make a face. “Didn’t you hear those salesgirls at Siam Square yesterday? They rushed up as soon as we entered and said they didn’t have anything in my size.” My cheeks still burn when I think about their haughty expressions.
She sighs. “The clothes there are just ridiculously small. We’ll go to the mall today. They should have something that will fit you.”
I stare at her diminutive frame and her chopstick legs. “One of the salesgirls asked how much I weighed. Another grabbed my arm and said I felt like a side pillow.”
“They didn’t mean any harm. It is just the Thai way to be blunt.” She catches my chin and tilts up my face. “You are so beautiful. I wish you could see that.”
I could say so many things. I could tell her that I’m ugly not only in Thailand but also in the United States. Even though I’m not big by American standards—far from it—I could confess how the boys call me Squinty. How those Thai salesgirls snickered at my poodle-fuzz hair. I could explain how I’m from two worlds but fit in neither.
But I don’t. Because my words will only make her sad, and there have been enough tears in our family.

Pintip is a New York Times bestselling author of YA fiction. She graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the YALE LAW JOURNAL.

Pintip’s first novel, FORGET TOMORROW won the RWA RITA® award for Best First Book. Her other novels include THE DARKEST LIE, REMEMBER YESTERDAY, and the novella, BEFORE TOMORROW. She is represented by literary agent Beth Miller of Writers House.

She lives with her husband and children in Maryland.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

 

Enter to win a copy of the book here!

 

 

Posted in New releases

Book Update: #BeMyKiller is now “Follow You”

I wanted to share a quick update to a fabulous book that I highly recommend readers check out:

Since I reviewed “Be My Killer,” the title has been tweaked to “Follow You.” 

img_6850

I wanted to make sure you all had a chance to check it out (and it’s now available on Amazon!) without any confusion.

Book description:

Her eyelids were the only parts of her body she could move. The figure spoke, then retreated into the gloom. She couldn’t accept what they’d said. How could she have brought this on herself?

When an online prank goes viral and triggers a spate of gruesome murders, documentary maker Hazel Salter watches in horror. But then a new victim is found, her body bound to a pillar, and its Hazel’s childhood friend, Meredith Hickman. Hazel must find out what happened to her.

Is it one killer or more? Random, or part of a bigger plan?

The police have no leads, but Hazel has a theory – one she’ll stop at nothing to prove. With her film crew in tow, Hazel sets off for the abandoned amusement park where Meredith was found, to solve the crime, bring Meredith justice, and make the documentary of her lifetime. But as Hazel interviews the victims’ families and friends, people start disappearing.

As the death toll rises, Hazel realises someone close-by is targeting her team methodically. Can she uncover the truth before another life is lost, or will the killer get to Hazel first?

A gripping, ‘just-one-more-page’ thriller with the most twisted killer you’ll ever meet. This book will keep you guessing long into the night. PERFECT for fans of James Patterson, Karin Slaughter, and Tess Gerritsen.

Posted in Book Extras, New releases

Cover Reveals: Thrillers coming soon!

Last week, we got two new sneak peaks at some upcoming books – both are thrillers due out within the next year and have stunning covers:

Beautiful Liars

(So far I only have the British release details – so keep your eyes peeled for American release details!)

Seventeen years ago Martha said goodbye to best friend Juliet on a moonlit London towpath.
The next morning Juliet’s bike was found abandoned at the waterside.
She was never seen again.

Nearly two decades later Martha is a TV celebrity, preparing to host a new crime show… and the first case will be that of missing student Juliet Sherman. After all these years Martha must reach out to old friends and try to piece together the final moments of Juliet’s life.

But what happens when your perfect friends turn out to be perfect strangers…?

The Good Sister

Release date is set for Aug. 16!

There are two sides to every secret.

She is staring back at me with exactly my expression – a mixture of wonder, bewilderment and horror. It’s like looking in a dark, cracked mirror.


‘Who are you?’ she whispers.

When her beloved father dies, Josie is devastated to uncover a secret life he has led with another family: a half-sister, Valentina, born in the same week, in the same hospital. They look so physically alike they could be mistaken for twins. But the similarities end there.

As an unlikely bond begins to form between them, Josie finds herself drawn into Valentina’s complex world; a world where Josie no longer has to be the good girl her father raised her to be. Could the same reckless, self-destructive streak that runs through Valentina’s blood, be running through her own?

Could Josie be capable of more than she had ever imagined? Could she be capable of murder? One of them is.

A tense and claustrophobic read that will keep you turning pages into the night. Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen, Claire Douglas and Sue Fortin.

Both are headed straight for my TBR pile!

Posted in New releases

Release Day Blitz: Dark Harvest by Chris Patchell

Here’s a new release that looks great: a dark thriller with a beautiful cover. Can’t wait to read it, and I’m excited to be able to introduce it to you on its release date!

Dark Harvest ebook cover

Dark Harvest
By Chris Patchell
Genre: Thriller, Suspense

Becky Kincaid ventures out in the middle of a snowstorm to buy a car seat for her unborn baby and never makes it home. When a second pregnant woman disappears, Marissa Rooney and the team at the Holt Foundation fear a sinister motive lurks behind the crimes.
 
Lead investigator, Seth Crawford, desperately searches for the thread that binds the two cases together, knowing that if he fails, another woman will soon be gone. While Seth searches for clues, a madman has Marissa in his sights and she carries a secret that could tear her whole world apart.
 
Can Seth stop the killer before he reaps his… Dark Harvest

Author PhotoAbout the Author

Chris Patchell is the bestselling author of In the Dark and the Indie Reader Discovery Award winning novel Deadly Lies. Having recently given up her career in tech to pursue her passion for writing full-time, Chris resides in the Pacific Northwest with her family and two neurotic Yorkies. To learn more about Chris and her book, visit www.chrispatchell.com/. Join her on Facebook for book giveaways and more fun murder mysteries at www.facebook.com/authorchrispatchell.

 

ON AMAZON: https://www.amazon.com/Dark-Harvest-Holt-Foundation-Story-ebook/dp/B06XK11GY4/