Posted in Reviews

You Will Pay by Lisa Jackson

You Will PayYou Will Pay by Lisa Jackson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In a new standalone novel, Lisa Jackson creates a fascinating mystery, anchored in the past, with reverberations in the present. It’s another winner from Jackson, though not quite one of my favorites (though that’s a tall order, because her books are generally very good).

Twenty years ago, a group of young people were thrown together at a Christian summer camp. As expected hormones and bad behavior raged, culminating in the disappearance of three of the camp’s young employees. Now, as a set of bones are discovered, The unsolved disappearances are getting a fresh look. Everyone has something to hide and everyone behaved poorly, but who is a killer? The remaining group is determined to find out.

The mystery of what happened all those years ago is at the heart of this novel. It’s so suspenseful and twisty, you can’t help but get sucked in and want to find out what happened. There’s enough things that will keep you turning pages.

I didn’t figure it all out. I had some ideas, but the final outcomes remained a mystery to me. I loved the suspense in this novel and was satisfied with how things turned out. Everything seemed to wrap up nicely.

The novel is not only told in both the past and the present, it is told from various viewpoints, as Jackson shows what happened 20 years ago from all angles. While this provides some good information and adds to the mystery, it does make it hard to really connect with any of the characters.

Because of that, the romance fell flat for me. But I was really in it for the mystery anyway. That’s the gem of this novel and what Jackson really does best: creating a world of suspense and mystery that drags you in.

I’ll be interested to see if these characters will return for another novel. I wouldn’t mind seeing more of Maggie, Annette or Nell. If this does turn into a series, I’ll definitely be picking up the future books!

Highly recommended.

View all my reviews

Posted in Reviews

Midnight Obsession by Melinda Leigh

Midnight Obsession (Midnight, #4)Midnight Obsession by Melinda Leigh
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Melinda Leigh has crafted a great romantic suspense novel that will appeal to fans of Lisa Jackson, Nora Roberts and others.

The story is multi-layered, without being overly complicated or confusing.

The main storyline involves a ritual murder which recalls the warrior burials of the Vikings. When Louisa Hancock’s father – an expert on Vikings – goes missing, Louisa and her boyfriend, Conor Sullivan, must race against the clock to figure out what’s happening. At the same time, Conor and Louisa get wrapped up in a violent gang war, which may also tie into the Viking killer’s plans.

I had not read the other books in the series but I didn’t feel lost at all. The story does well as a standalone. There are references to old plot lines, but nothing is spoiled for those that want to go back and read the others.

The main mystery was pretty good – it’s one of those “don’t look away until the end,” because it’s not totally done until it’s done. I like books like that, because they don’t let you rest until you’re done. You don’t lose interest because it’s all solved.

There’s also a very creepy resolution- not to give anything away but it’s really….twisted, blurring the line between victim and perpetrator/good and evil. It makes you think, which is good.

I enjoyed this book and look forward to revisiting some of these characters in future books. I will be picking up the others in this series.

View all my reviews

Posted in Reviews

The Danger of Desire by Sabrina Jeffries

The Danger of Desire (Sinful Suitors, #3)The Danger of Desire by Sabrina Jeffries
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a sweet but definitely spicy tale of a woman who isn’t looking for a husband and a man who isn’t looking for a wife – and they end up finding each other.

This is the third book in a series, though it can be read as a standalone. However, I must say that events is previous books are talked about and tie into the plot. Just be warned if you’re a series purist (which I am not).

The novel enters on Warren and Delia. Delia just lost her brother, who gambled away most of the family’s money and lost to a man with a distinct tattoo. Now, she’s trying to find that man by hanging around gaming hells disguised as a man. Warren’s cousin Clarissa asks him to see if Delia’s recent strange behavior is anything to be concerned about. When he investigates, he not only discovers her activities, but begins to fall for her.

The love story, IMO was very sweet, but I wish there was a little more. Like, i don’t know how to describe it, but they lacked a romantic flair. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I loved them together, but I guess I like the sugary sweet moments and they didn’t have many. They kind of danced around their feelings and gave lame excuses instead of just giving in – and some of the backstory was a little much. It wasn’t needed with so much plot already in there.

But the ending is wonderful and I’m sure we’ll be seeing even more of these characters, which would please me. I would for sure read more of this series.

This book has a great blend of spicy love scenes and enough plot to keep things moving. Highly recommended for Regency romance fans.

View all my reviews

Posted in Reviews

Stormswept by Deborah Martin (Sabrina Jeffries)

StormsweptStormswept by Deborah Martin
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Today, I am officially declaring my love of Regency romances. They’re my guilty pleasure read when I need a pick-me-up. When you find a great romance, it just makes you feel good inside.

And Stormswept was AMAZING.

It centers around Juliana and Rhys, who married young and in secret. And when her family finds out, they make sure the young, hot-headed Rhys is put out of the way, they think for good.

But they were wrong. Rhys makes his reappearance as Juliana finally accepts his death and becomes engaged to another man. Rhys demands that Juliana submit to him as a wife, convinced that she is the reason he spent six years in torment, but he begins to discover that not only do the embers of passion still burn brightly, but that Juliana may have never lost them.

This book not only had a great storyline, but it had the romance and passion to go along with it. And while the storyline was intense, it didn’t suck up too much of the book. (I hate when some random subplot takes the focus off of the couple: they’re the reason we’re reading in the first place!)

And the love scenes were hot. Uh….that’s all I’ll say about that *wink*.

I don’t think it’s too much of a shock that there was a happy ending, and it came at just the right pace. As I’ve said, there was just the right amount of conflict to keep the story going, some twists, but worth the focus firmly on Rhys and Juliana, with the perfect resolution.

Bottom line: HIGHLY recommended.

View all my reviews