Posted in Reviews

You Will Pay by Lisa Jackson

You Will PayYou Will Pay by Lisa Jackson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In a new standalone novel, Lisa Jackson creates a fascinating mystery, anchored in the past, with reverberations in the present. It’s another winner from Jackson, though not quite one of my favorites (though that’s a tall order, because her books are generally very good).

Twenty years ago, a group of young people were thrown together at a Christian summer camp. As expected hormones and bad behavior raged, culminating in the disappearance of three of the camp’s young employees. Now, as a set of bones are discovered, The unsolved disappearances are getting a fresh look. Everyone has something to hide and everyone behaved poorly, but who is a killer? The remaining group is determined to find out.

The mystery of what happened all those years ago is at the heart of this novel. It’s so suspenseful and twisty, you can’t help but get sucked in and want to find out what happened. There’s enough things that will keep you turning pages.

I didn’t figure it all out. I had some ideas, but the final outcomes remained a mystery to me. I loved the suspense in this novel and was satisfied with how things turned out. Everything seemed to wrap up nicely.

The novel is not only told in both the past and the present, it is told from various viewpoints, as Jackson shows what happened 20 years ago from all angles. While this provides some good information and adds to the mystery, it does make it hard to really connect with any of the characters.

Because of that, the romance fell flat for me. But I was really in it for the mystery anyway. That’s the gem of this novel and what Jackson really does best: creating a world of suspense and mystery that drags you in.

I’ll be interested to see if these characters will return for another novel. I wouldn’t mind seeing more of Maggie, Annette or Nell. If this does turn into a series, I’ll definitely be picking up the future books!

Highly recommended.

View all my reviews

Posted in Reviews

Dangerous Behavior by Nancy Bush

Dangerous BehaviorDangerous Behavior by Nancy Bush

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Fans of classic mysteries will love the latest by Nancy Bush (one of my favorites!) which isn’t necessarily action-packed, but will put readers’ detective skills to the test in pursuit of some “thrill killers” and their puppeteer.

The book centers on the murder of Joe Ford, whose estranged brother, ex-police officer Sam Ford, was summoned to his house the day his boat catches fire, killing him and leaving his wife Julia badly injured. Sam and Julia were once a hot item and the brothers fell out over the marriage, but despite their differences, Sam is determined to catch his brother’s killer. The case quickly centers around recent business dealings of Joe’s and other financial bigwigs in the area. In a small town, everyone knows everyone’s business, and everyone’s connected. Untangling everything is a big task.

This is definitely one of those cases where it seems so straightforward but soon small twists take the story in other directions. It’s interesting to see how it slowly unravels. And there are a ton of suspects so readers will remain guessing until the end – at least I did.

And there’s a great little twist at the end. Loved it.

The thrill killer seems provide some action but mostly the novel follow Sam and Julia as she tries to remember that day and Sam tries to make sense of his brothers final days – a rough task since they were estranged. I didn’t mind this because it allowed me to focus on the mystery in the story rather than all of the action and movement.

Like I said, it really is a classic mystery-type story.

I don’t know if Bush will go back to this town or these characters in the future for more, but I would definitely read more about them. And there’s plenty of interesting stories in there somewhere, with all the characters that she introduces.

Another winner here, folks.

View all my reviews

Posted in Reviews

Expecting to Die by Lisa Jackson

Expecting to Die (To Die, #7)Expecting to Die by Lisa Jackson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Full disclosure: I love Lisa Jackson’s romantic suspense novels. She knows how to craft a book that is creepy, intriguing and incredibly addicting.

And I’m happy to say that “Expecting to Die” is another winner!

The novel is a decidedly modern take on teenage drama, murder and – wait for it – the hunt for Bigfoot. Somehow Jackson is able to weave all of these elements into a tale that keeps you guessing and wanting more.

The story opens with the murder of a pregnant local teen, whose body is discovered during a teenage drinking party by homicide detective Regan Pescoli’s daughter, Bianca. More frightening is that Bianca says she discovered the body after being chased down a steep bank by a big, hairy creature that many in the town are quick to assume is a Sasquatch. As media attention focuses on the small town of Grizzly Falls and its teenage population, more bodies turn up, and Pescoli and her partner have to untangle what’s going on in the mountains.

Once the story got going, I really enjoyed the “fresh” elements of the story: reality television, social media, etc. are all big points in the story, since much of the storyline focuses on the teenage crowd that surrounds Bianca. And figuring out who knows who, who’s sleeping with who is incredibly intriguing, as you are just pushed into the drama. It’s like a murderous, delicious “Gossip Girl.”

I hadn’t read the other in Jackson’s Grizzly Falls series before this book, but had no problems picking it right up. In fact, it made me disappointed in myself that I had been slacking and hadn’t gotten into the Pescoli/Alvarez storyline yet! (My favorite is the New Orleans series!)

The four stars come in because after reading (and rereading) some parts, I still am a little unclear about the ending. Some elements were very clearly laid out, but one in particular is still unclear to me. Maybe once others pick this one up, we can discuss. It’s also a kind-of depressing take on the teenage crowd (similar to “The Most Dangerous Place on Earth”). You don’t come out with a lot of faith in the next generation.

But overall, I really enjoyed this book. I stayed up late last night to finish it because I had to know how it ended.

Highly recommended.

View all my reviews

Posted in Reviews

Midnight Obsession by Melinda Leigh

Midnight Obsession (Midnight, #4)Midnight Obsession by Melinda Leigh
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Melinda Leigh has crafted a great romantic suspense novel that will appeal to fans of Lisa Jackson, Nora Roberts and others.

The story is multi-layered, without being overly complicated or confusing.

The main storyline involves a ritual murder which recalls the warrior burials of the Vikings. When Louisa Hancock’s father – an expert on Vikings – goes missing, Louisa and her boyfriend, Conor Sullivan, must race against the clock to figure out what’s happening. At the same time, Conor and Louisa get wrapped up in a violent gang war, which may also tie into the Viking killer’s plans.

I had not read the other books in the series but I didn’t feel lost at all. The story does well as a standalone. There are references to old plot lines, but nothing is spoiled for those that want to go back and read the others.

The main mystery was pretty good – it’s one of those “don’t look away until the end,” because it’s not totally done until it’s done. I like books like that, because they don’t let you rest until you’re done. You don’t lose interest because it’s all solved.

There’s also a very creepy resolution- not to give anything away but it’s really….twisted, blurring the line between victim and perpetrator/good and evil. It makes you think, which is good.

I enjoyed this book and look forward to revisiting some of these characters in future books. I will be picking up the others in this series.

View all my reviews

Posted in Reviews

All the Dead Girls by Rita Herron

All the Dead Girls (Graveyard Falls, #3)All the Dead Girls by Rita Herron
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Every once in awhile, I’m in the mood for a good romantic suspense book. Filled with a twisted killer, a cheesy couple and a big reveal at the end. “All the Dead Girls,” fits the bill perfectly.

This is the third in the Graveyard Falls series, but can certainly be read as a standalone.

The book follows Beth, formerly JJ, who was abducted as a teen, but doesn’t remember any of it. Her guidance counselor was convicted of the crime, but she always questioned his guilt. Then, the long-buried bones of more than a dozen girls are found after a storm, including the friend JJ disappeared with. She returns to town to see if she can figure out who is behind the killings once and for all. The towns sheriff, Ian, is also on the case – and shocker! – he’s the stepson of the convicted man out to prove his innocence.

You have to suspend belief a little bit with this one, since it’s incredibly unlikely that a third serial killer would inhabit this same small town and that JJ and Ian would be allowed to investigate, with their personal ties to the case.

But past that, it’s a good story. The killer is seriously freaking twisted, and there are several points in the story you think you’ve got it all figured out, only for the author to add a new layer. This all also happens against the backdrop of religious fanaticism, which I think is incredibly creepy and kept me turning pages.

The romance was a little over-the-top (I didn’t really get the chemistry between the characters) but it wasn’t terrible. I guess I liked the mystery so much, I was too focused on that! Hopefully, we’ll see more of these two and develop their relationship a little more.

If you’re a fan of romantic suspense – Lisa Jackson, Nancy Bush, etc. – you’ll want to pick this one up. It’s made me a Rita Herron fan.

View all my reviews

Posted in Reviews

“The Night Before”

816tFGcMvWLThe Basics:

Title: The Night Before
Author: Lisa Jackson
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 464

My rating: smooth-star smooth-star smooth-star smooth-star

Publisher’s Description: The next morning, Caitlyn Montgomery Bandeaux wakes covered in blood. But Caitlyn has no memory of the night before, when her estranged husband was brutally murdered like so many others she has known…Wanted by the police and haunted by horrifying, fragmented memories, Caitlyn turns to Adam Hunt, the town’s new psychologist. But how far can she really trust him? For as a twisted killer strikes again and again, Caitlyn’s about to discover that those who appear the most innocent are usually the most evil…

My review:If you don’t like to be scared silly, please scroll through this one, folks. But if you love things that go bump in the night, pick up this book, NOW!

Continue reading ““The Night Before””