Posted in Reviews

Review: Long Time Gone by Charlie Donlea

Long Time Gone by Charlie Donlea

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Though she was adopted as an infant, Sloan Hastings didn’t think submitting her DNA to an ancestry website as part of her forensic pathology fellowship would yield any terribly serious results. Boy, was she wrong. It turns out Sloan’s DNA revealed that she is “Baby Charlotte” an infant who disappeared 29 years ago, along with her parents from her family’s home across the country, where her rich and powerful extended family still lives and searches for them. Hoping to not only discover more about her past, but find out what happened to her parents, she decides to head to Nevada. But there’s someone who is desperate to keep the past firmly in the past.

The book is told along two timelines, the past and the present.

This was my second Charlie Donlea book, he also wrote “Those Empty Eyes,” and I was hoping it would live up to its promise, and boy did it. This book was a great read start to finish. The mysteries (Theres a couple, but I won’t spoil them!) are all suspenseful, and I was seriously on the edge of my seat as they came together and Sloan and her investigative partner, the Sheriff in Cedar Creek, start putting everything together.

And I did not figure out the ending at all. Plus the fact that it’s a little….well….muddy, helps make it all the more interesting. I won’t say more, but it’s really good. Though a little frustrating, but drop me a line if you want to chat me about that.

Anyway, just get this book if you want a good mystery/thriller. It’s well worth the read!


View all my reviews

Leave a comment