Posted in Reviews

Review: Small Town Horror by Ronald Malfi

Small Town Horror by Ronald Malfi

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Twenty years ago, Andy and his friends made some terrible decisions that both broke them apart and destroyed a family. Now, Andy is living a comfortable life in NYC with his wife when he gets a call summoning him back to his hometown. When he arrives, he finds his old friends in shambles. Half seem to think that they’re finally paying for their actions 20 years ago. Some are determined to keep things quiet forever. As Andy is pulled further and further into the town’s problems, he begins losing his own grip on reality. Has their past really come back to haunt them? Or is it all in their heads?

This book is told along two timelines: One showing the events of 20 years ago; and one following the events of the present.

I absolutely cannot recommend this book enough for people that love ghost stories. It’s like the ultimate slow-burn thriller as you just watch this group of former friends dissolve into madness and paranoia. I couldn’t put it down! And that ending PHEW! Blew me away.

The characters were really well drawn, and each friend was very distinct. At least one (Eric) was pretty awful, but I think the rest were really worth rooting for in some way, even if it was small in some cases (Dale). And I think that was on purpose and done really well because it kept things interesting. I mean, it kept us guessing about what the group was capable of and what they were going to do next. And trust me, in this book, it could be anything.

I hadn’t read anything before by Ronald Malfi, but after this, I’m a fan. I’m going to look for his new work, and I’m going back to look at his older stuff. This book was THAT good.

If you like horror, just get this one.



View all my reviews

Leave a comment